Research: Larry Sultan Pictures From Home

I have been thinking a lot about my photography the last few weeks. About the bits that I’m good at and the bits I have yet to master. I am trying to arrange, with three families I know, some sessions where we work together in a similar vein to Isabelle Mege – co-authoring to a point. On the one hand, so I can ‘sell’ a different sort of family portrait and also so I can ‘speak’ about my interests through my work. I revisited Larry Sultan, Pictures from Home. It makes me cry every time I look at it. It’s so powerful. And reminds me of what I’m aiming for with photography. It challenges advertising images and carries far more authenticity than the sort of images we’re bombarded with constantly. I think I have lost sight of that a bit. And there is so much stuff out there that it’s hard not to lose sight.

 ://larrysultan.com/gallery/pictures-from-home/

Leave a Reply

